top of page
  • Writer's picturefruGAL

Garden Roma Salsa



I love salsa! I just do - second to my pesto addiction is salsa (gosh maybe salsa is first?!) It is so versatile I can get down with it at any time of the day! Breakfast burritos, or even just on scrambled eggs alone, lunch tacos, lunch nachos, dinner the same as lunch options - snacking just salsa and chips, I mean 3 am salsa and chips is the best experience ever! Salsa is the other holy grail of food!


I don’t know about you, but tacos are life! Forget flowers - if my husband brings me a taco home then I know he loves me! Anytime I get a chance to go out with him I am all about an authentic taco restaurant. Now there are 3 important factors for me when we go besides the obvious price and cleanliness - the flavor of their beef (no chicken here), quality of their black bean sides (in love with black beans), and of course how their SALSA stacks up. You can sit down to the most remarkable meal and if their salsa is subpar it just kills it for me! The good news is most places bring you salsa (Pico de Gallo or Salsa Fresca) and chips right as you sit down, so if it's terrible you can decide to just have a drink and politely leave in search of another option. Luckily I have never had and an issue so far!


 

Now with all those garden fresh tomatoes out there in your personal garden, at the farmers market, and even some of your stores may carry local fresh tomatoes - now is the time to whip up this quick recipe! I personally use Roma tomatoes in almost all of my salsa, sauces, bruschetta etc - they're meatier and in my opinion much tastier of the tomato fruits, yielding a perfect result whether cooking them down or eating them raw. But you can use any you have on hand. Jalapeno's are an easy fresh garden score too!


I made this salsa recipe the other night and it was almost all gone at the end of our dinner. We had tacos but then we all sat around dipping cool ranch Doritos and eating it that way too, we even talked about blending it into a salsa soup and eating with a spoon(which I may try)! My oldest is my picky eater, he doesn’t even eat ketchup, gravy, and usually not salsa, but he put this right on his taco and gushed about how good it was. We usually make him just sample foods and see if he likes it - he has tried salsa from the store, even gourmet, many times and passed! I was amazed he loved this so much! Now we did a more mild one, but if you want a bit more spice mix some of the jalapeno seeds in the recipe.


Let me know what tomatoes you used and how it came out in the comments section.


 


Garden Roma Salsa


  • Prep time: 10 min

  • Yield: 6 cups

Ingredients

  • 8-10 Roma tomatoes (about a pound)

  • ½ medium red onion

  • 1 jalapeño pepper

  • ½ - ¾ cup fresh cilantro depending on preference

  • 1 garlic clove

  • 1/2 lemon

  • 1 lime

  • 1 tsp salt

  • ½ tsp pepper

  • ½ tsp cumin

Instructions

  1. Finely dice tomatoes, red onion, jalapeño pepper, garlic and cilantro. Combine in a large bowl and add lemon juice, lime juice and seasoning.

  2. Enjoy right away or let it sit for 30 minutes to allow the salt to pull some of the juices out if you prefer a bit more liquid in your salsa.

  3. Store in the refrigerator in an airtight container such as a ball jar for up to 1 week.



This recipe has been adapted from fablunch!


52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page